1 July 1972: Johnny Farnham

1 July 1995: Kimberley Davies (Neighbours)

1 July 2000: Belinda Emmett (All Saints)

1 July 2006: Katie Hastings, Jamie Brooksby, David Graham, Krystal Forscutt, Camilla Severi (Big Brother)

1 July 1932: The Australian Broadcasting Commission is formed as Australia’s national broadcaster, comprising 12 radio stations. The broadcaster was later chartered to provide Australia’s national television service from 1956 — ABC celebrates 90 years [2022]

1 July 1962: Station affiliations change, with Melbourne’s GTV9 becoming aligned with TCN9 Sydney, and Melbourne’s HSV7 with ATN7 Sydney. The change would see the formation of what is now the Seven Network and the Nine Network and would result in some programs swapping channels to match the new alignments. However, viewers would notice few on-air changes for some weeks, even months, as sponsorship contracts were left to run their course before specific programs change channels.

1 July 1965: Brisbane’s third commercial TV station, TVQ0, is officially opened — Ten Brisbane turns 50 [2015]

1 July 1974: The 0-10 Network’s new current affairs program, 24 Hours, begins with John Bailey. The new program is the product of former A Current Affair host and producer Mike Willesee.

1 July 1979: Countdown presents its 200th episode.

1 July 1987: The wedding of Scott Robinson and Charlene Ramsay (Jason Donovan and Kylie Minogue) marks a defining moment in Neighbours‘ long history — Scott and Charlene’s 30th wedding anniversary [2017]

1 July 1991: Nine debuts a new morning program, What’s Cooking, hosted by Gabriel Gate and Colette Mann.

1 July 1997: Regional city Mildura receives a second commercial station, Prime, ending a 32-year commercial monopoly held by STV8 (WIN) — 50 years of TV in Mildura [2015]

1 July 2016: Southern Cross Austereo changes its regional affiliation from Ten to Nine in regional Queensland, Southern NSW/ACT and Victoria. WIN switches from Nine to Ten in the same markets as well as Tasmania and Western Australia. The switchover was reversed in 2021.

1 July 2017: Receivers are called in to Network Ten, two weeks after the company was placed in voluntary administration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.