jackiweaverActress Jacki Weaver (pictured) has been applauded for a career spanning over 50 years at last night’s 3rd annual AACTA Awards (formerly the AFI Awards).

Weaver received the Raymond Longford Award for lifetime achievement at the presentation held at The Star, Sydney.

The accolade comes just days after she was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the Australia Day Honour’s List.

Weaver’s career dates back to 1963, with early TV credits including Wandjina! and The Schoolmistress and appearances in TV series Riptide, Woobinda Animal Doctor, The Godfathers, Catwalk, Spyforce, Division 4, Matlock Police, The Last Of The Australians, Rush, Homicide, Alvin Purple, Trial By Marriage, Water Under The Bridge, Tickled Pink, House Rules and Satisfaction.

Movie credits include Stork, Petersen, Picnic At Hanging Rock, Caddie, Squizzy Taylor, Cosi and Three Blind Mice.

Since being nominated for an Academy Award in 2011, Weaver has been in demand in the US with roles in feature films including The Five Year Engagement, The Silver Linings Playbook and Stoker. She has recently appeared in US TV series Super Fun Night, The McCarthys and the upcoming mini-series Gracepoint (the US adaptation of the UK series Broadchurch).

Television Award Winners:

Best Lead Actor In A Television Drama
Lachy Hulme, Power Games: The Packer Murdoch Story (Nine Network)

Best Guest Or Supporting Actor In A Television Drama
Luke Ford, Power Games: The Packer-Murdoch Story, Part 2 (Nine Network)

Best Reality Television Series
MasterChef: The Professionals (Network Ten)

Best Performance In A Television Comedy
Shaun Micallef, Shaun Micallef’s Mad As Hell, Series 2 (ABC1)

Best Telefeature Or Mini-Series
Top Of The Lake (UKTV, Foxtel)

Best Guest Or Supporting Actress In A Television Drama
Kat Stewart, Offspring, Series 4, Episode 9 (Network Ten)

Best Actress In A Television Drama
Claudia Karvan, Time Of Our Lives (ABC1)

Best Television Drama Series
Redfern Now, Series 2 (ABC1)

Best Children’s Television Series
Nowhere Boys (ABC3)

Best Television Comedy Or Light Entertainment Series
Please Like Me (ABC2)

Best Direction In A Television Drama Or Comedy
Power Games: The Packer-Murdoch Story, Part 1 (Nine Network)

Best Direction In A Television Light Entertainment Or Reality Series
Hamish And Andy’s Gap Year: Asia, Episode 1 (Nine Network)

Best Screenplay In Television
Offspring, Series 4, Episode 13 (Network Ten)

Best Cinematography In Television
Top Of The Lake, Episode 5 (UKTV, Foxtel)

Best Editing In Television
Mrs Biggs, Episode 3 (Seven Network)

Best Sound In Television
Top Of The Lake, Episode 5 (UKTV, Foxtel)

Best Original Music Score In Television
Redfern Now, Series 2, Episode 3 (ABC1)

Best Production Design In Television
Peleda, Episode 3 (ABC3)

Best Costume Design In Television
Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, Series 2, Episode 1 (ABC1)

The 3rd annual AACTA Awards were on a delayed broadcast on Network Ten, though AACTA themselves were tweeting the names of award winners hours before the telecast was due to begin.

Source: AACTA Awards

1 thought on “The 3rd AACTA Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.