1 January 2011 archive

A decade of digital TV

Australian television first entered the digital age on 1 January 2001 – a decade ago today. On that day all five networks – ABC, Seven, Nine, Ten, SBS – commenced full-time standard-definition digital transmission in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth as part of the initial roll-out of digital television.  High-definition signals were not to …

Continue reading

Permanent link to this article: https://televisionau.com/2011/01/decade-of-digital-tv.html