AFL Grand Final to get HD broadcast

7_2000sThe Seven Network has announced that it will be broadcasting next Saturday’s AFL Grand Final in high definition on 7mate as well as in standard definition on the primary Seven channel.

The announcement is a win for fans who have long campaigned for the AFL to be returned to high definition broadcast. The last time the Grand Final was broadcast in HD was in 2010.

Since then a determined campaign has run on social media, led by the Twitter account @AFLinHDpls, frustrated by Seven’s continual restriction of AFL broadcasts to the standard definition channel in the major AFL markets.

Broadcasting restrictions dictate that signature events such as the Grand Final must be broadcast on the primary standard definition channel, which is accessible to all free-to-air viewers, but there is no restriction preventing an HD simulcast. However, networks have largely declined to do an HD simulcast for fear of not offering viewers an alternative program option. This is a strategy that is at odds with certain programs, such as My Kitchen Rules and Ten‘s Family Feud, being indulged with multi-channel simulcasts as a means of boosting their audience reach.

TV simulcast broadcast times:

Saturday October 3

AFL Grand Final day coverage:

Melbourne 9am LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 8.30am LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 7am LIVE on 7mate
Sydney 9am LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 9am LIVE on Channel 7

Melbourne 9am LIVE on 7mate in HD
Adelaide 8.30am LIVE on 7mate in HD
Perth 12pm LIVE on 7mate in HD
Sydney 2pm LIVE on 7mate in HD
Brisbane 2pm LIVE on 7mate in HD

Source: Yahoo7

 

 

More from my site

Permanent link to this article: http://televisionau.com/2015/09/afl-grand-final-to-get-hd-broadcast.html

1 comment

    • Luke on 26 September 2015 at 10:14 AM
    • Reply

    It’s about time as this country is sooooo far behind other western countries in regards to sports telecast on HD formats!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.